Two: Sleepy Hollow aka The Show I Never Knew I Needed

SO! I watched Fox’s Sleepy Hollow the other day. It’s a modern retelling of Washington Irving’s “The Legend of Sleepy Hollow”. The trailer was pretty kickass so I had high expectations.

What I Liked:

I love the diverse cast. It’s awesome seeing shows with not just white characters AND having a POC woman as a lead character. (Kudos to Elementary too!) Also, Abbie is pretty awesome and independent. (Also HAROLD!! aka Andy)

Abbie and Ichabod. Yeah, yeah I know. Why can’t the leads be platonic best friends for life? Because they are so cute and shippable that’s WHY! There lives are intertwined people. INTERTWINED!

AND their faces when they look at each other after the headless horseman leaves. also his face when she says that she won’t leave Sleepy Hollow. Ah, my heart.

Aside from that the episode was really interesting and it kept me on my toes. I’m really excited to see more of Abbie and Ichabod’s dynamic as well as Ichabod’s reaction to like a microwave or TV. I’m also looking forward to seeing more of the mythology.

What I didn’t like:

Hmmm…I guess the CGI could use a little bit of work, however I did watch Merlin for five years, so it’s not a huge problem.

GRADE: A

Will I watch next week?

Hell yes!

 

Leave a Reply

